Gertrude

In one place, where the trickling of a stream made it damp, I found on a clear day hundreds of small, blue butterflies. They were drinking of the water and hardly turned aside from my steps or from me. When I roused them they fluttered around me with a little, gentle, silky rustle. After I found them I followed that path every sunny day, and every time found the dense, blue cloud, and each time it was like a festival.

Gertrude, Hermann Hesse

[Image source: Tasha Lewis]

Leave a Reply

