A Child’s Heart

I was given the choice between church and Sunday school. As always, I preferred church. There at least I was let alone and my thoughts could wander. Moreover, the high, solemn chamber with its colored windows often seemed beautiful and uplifting, and when I squinted my eyes and peered down the long, dusty nave to the organ I often saw wonderful pictures. The organ pipes towering out of the gloom frequently seemed like a radiant city of a hundred towers. Moreover, when attendance was sparse I had often managed to lose myself in a book of stories for the entire hour.

– “A Child’s Heart,” Klingsor’s Last Summer, Hermann Hesse (trans. S. Fischer Verlag)

[Image: Stadtkirche St. Peter und Paul, Calw, Germany; source: literaturcafe.de]

Leave a Reply

